EJ251 Head gaskets rebuild failure

Reaction score
Hi everyone.

Recently I was doing a full engine rebuild for my 2002 Outback 2.5. I am a complete novice in engine rebuilds and this was my first engine.
I was advised that I should use aftermarket MLS head gaskets and so I ordered the kit and installed it. I reused my head bolts.
Both my heads were machined by the machine shop, and the valves were reseated. The short block was also professionally rebuilt.
I put everything together and followed the factory manual, but on the first start, the engine ejected all oil through the right head gasket :(
Back to square one...

I just want to ask experienced builders, do you torque down MLS head gaskets differently? And should I upgrade or just use OEM ones?
I know I should've done more research, but I guess you live and you learn from your own mistakes.
I also noticed that one of the bolts was acting strangely - I couldn't hand-tighten it. Maybe my old bolts were stretched.

You need a service manual and find out why that one bolt "acted strange".
New head bolts are a better idea.
Check all the threads for damage on the block and there is a pattern to head bolt torque.
OEM gaskets are the best. Measuring head and deck for flatness is a priority.
And the model is?

Attachments

• 2002 Outback.png
    2002 Outback.png
    1.6 KB · Views: 3
I have a similar manual. I followed the same process, but I think it's for OEM head gaskets, not for the MLS ones.

Extracted from the manual:
Tighten cylinder head bolts.
(1) Apply a coat of engine oil to washers andbolt threads.
(2) Tighten all bolts to 29 N·m (3.0 kgf-m, 22ft-lb) in alphabetical sequence.Then tighten all bolts to 69 N·m (7.0 kgf-m, 51ft-lb) in alphabetical sequence.
(3) Back off all bolts by 180° first; back them offby 180° again.
(4) Tighten bolts (a) and (b) to 34 N·m (3.5kgf-m, 25 ft-lb).
(5) Tighten bolts (c), (d), (e) and (f) to 15 N·m(1.5 kgf-m, 11 ft-lb).
(6) Tighten all bolts by 80 to 90° in alphabetical