may trade '18 Hylander for '23 Outback Touring, do i really need the XT?

Reaction score
Hello, I'm a newbie potential Subie -
I've always had Toyotas... my 2018 Hylander with 49K miles has disappointing MPG... otherwise comfortable, but the Outback appeals to me and I got a great offer on my Hylander recently.
Considering a 2023 Outback Touring. Do i really need the XT ? I've read that unless you live in the mountains the XT is not really needed ? Does the regular Touring have enough zip to pass trucks quickly and go up steep hills without feeling it ? Salesman said the XT has only been around for 2 years and before that, people had Outbacks in the mountains without XT's. I'm not in the mountains, but do go to West Tx. with some steep inclines. MPG on the regular Touring is better than the XT as you know.. Are the seats on the higher trim levels comfortable for long trips ? I've also considered a '23 Honda CRV (non hybrid), and I'm still looking around, but need to decide within a few weeks while I still have this offer. CVT is different than the V6 I'm used to. but Suburu has an excellent reputation. I have considered a new Ascent. Might test drive one. What else do you think I should know ? Thank you !

I just traded an '18 Highlander XLT as well. Bought the non-turbo Outback Touring. I have zero regrets for the non-turbo, I see plenty of power (Wisconsin) so no mountains to climb here. I too received a good trade in and moved quickly. I've only had the Outback a few weeks, it's still winter and there have been no long trips. I'm very happy with my choice.

On a sub note, I'm surprised at your MPG on the Highlander. In 60K miles, mine averaged 24.6. Pretty impressive I thought. I was way less than satisfied with the Toyota. I too have owned them for years. I have probably bought my last one.