Help w/ '97 Legacy with a real mystery issue (and then some...)

Reaction score
I have a 1997 Subaru Legacy that has an issue that has stumped 2 mechanics already, and I am at a loss... I am still learning and trying to fi up this car as a project of mine, but also (and probably more importanly), this is my only vehicle. Im a single mama so I try to save the money by doing the work myself, and it makes me proud to say ive fixed it myself. My goal is to get this puppy into amazing shape, but im not sure if that possible...

I guess I will start with the biggest issue and the mystery that has frustrated and stumped 2 professional (and maybe lazy) mechanics, and then list the other issues that Id love to get your guys opinion on.

Heres the facts:

The Mass Air Flow Mystery
  • Car engine will shut off at random times while parked, or while going 60 mph.
  • Rpms will flutter, and then drop.
  • Seems as if hitting rough roads or a sudden bump will set it off. Almost as if there is a loose or cracked hose and bumps cause the hose to move, thus making it not airtight. Upon inspection, I have not seen any sign of faulty hoses and neither has the 2 mechanics.
  • Diagnostics read the code for a Mass Air Flow Sensor defect.
  • Purchased 2 brand new sensors on 2 separate occasions. Both times the car will not even function, AT ALL. Why wouldn't it just continue to malfunction as the car was with the old sensor if the sensor isn't the problem? Why does the issue get worse with a brand new sensor?