98 legacy hesitates on acceleration and deceleration

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,
I'm new to his forum. I have owned my 98 legacy for the past 4 years and have been learning how to do my own repairs. I recently started feeling a slight stutter when I press the gas and another one when I take my foot off the gas. I'd like to figure out what this is and fix it before it becomes a worse problem, but I'm not sure where to start looking. It seems to happen after the first few minutes of operation, and I mainly notice it at around 60. There's no movement in the tach when it happens.

I recently drained and refilled the transmission fluid in order to reseal the pan. I also replaced a gasket on the front differential and noticed the problem directly after.
Thanks!

Hi Everyone,
I'm new to his forum. I have owned my 98 legacy for the past 4 years and have been learning how to do my own repairs. I recently started feeling a slight stutter when I press the gas and another one when I take my foot off the gas. I'd like to figure out what this is and fix it before it becomes a worse problem, but I'm not sure where to start looking. It seems to happen after the first few minutes of operation, and I mainly notice it at around 60. There's no movement in the tach when it happens.

I recently drained and refilled the transmission fluid in order to reseal the pan. I also replaced a gasket on the front differential and noticed the problem directly after.
Thanks!
Clogged Catalytic Converter.
Your catalytic converter is responsible for regulating the emissions coming out of your car.
Sometimes the rich mixtures of air and fuel that flows through your catalytic converter can clog, which can result in a jerking or stuttering motion when you press the gas pedal.