23 OB Ltd remote start/rear hatch with fob (not)

Reaction score
Hi - I just took home my new OB Ltd this past weekend and am loving it. I think I’m really going to enjoy this car.

I was surprised to find out that I can’t start the car remotely with the fob without installing a remote starter kit ($) to make that possible. I have the Starlink/My Subaru app and can start with that, but it’s so much less convenient.

It’s just been eating at me because I don’t understand why the car can be started via the app (wifi?) and not from a signal from the fob. So, I have no experience as an electrician or in computer programming, so I apologize if these questions are totally ignorant.

Here they are.

At the end of the day, isn’t starting the car just a signal sent to some board that performs the commands in order to turn over the car? Does it matter where that signal comes from?

What exactly is the remote starter kit? Why is that needed? Does it take the fob signal and route it to the same board that the app uses?

Somewhat related question. I also realized the rear hatch can’t be opened with the fob. It only locks/unlocks. Really? Can’t something like that be changed through a software update? Why wouldn’t they have this ubiquitous feature.

Again, please excuse me if I’m way off base talking boards and signals. I’d love for somebody to set me straight on this. I researched the crap out of this vehicle before deciding. I just never thought to ask about these things cuz I thought all cars had these functions. My bad, buyer beware. Probably wouldn’t have been a deal-breaker, still love the car.

Can’t wait for it to snow so I can go do some donuts (just kidding)!